mirak

What do you think of the Chevy Volt?

Haven't been following very closely, but I saw that GM recently confirmed a $41k sticker price for the Volt. I'm assuming that's a base price, and I have no idea what sort of options come standard.

Obviously, the price seems way too high for a compact car, even after a $7,500 tax credit (thanks for your money, taxpayers).

But beyond the price, the whole technology just seems dumb. The car lugs around an ICE, but it only serves as a generator to recharge the battery? The way I see it, if you need an ICE to drive at higher (highway) speeds and extend driving distance, it would be more efficient to just use hybrid technology, which actually incorporates the ICE into the drivetrain. And you've gotta think hybrid technology is going to get even better once they improve the batteries.

Of course, I'm not an engineer, not even a government engineer, so I could be totally wrong, but I'm really glad I went with the Fusion. I got a fully loaded mid-size sedan which gets over 40mpg for right around $30k. I just don't see how the Volt can compete.

Chevy claims that the Volt will get 50 mpg after the first 40 miles, but I am very skeptical of that conclusion. It is heavier than a Prius and it has the additional inefficiency of generating electricity for charging batteries that in turn drive motors. Each operation is at best a 70% efficient energy conversion, thus combined it is only a 49% efficient process after the 30% efficiency of the ICE, for a total of 15% overall efficiency. A direct drive by an ICE like the Prius and Fusion Hybrid have, gives you the 30% ICE efficiency plus 85% mechanical drivetrain efficiency for an overall of 25% versus the Volt 15%. After the first 40 miles on the Volt I think not only will the Prius beat the Volt, so will the Fusion Hybrid with it's approximate 40 mpg.