Sign in to follow this  
RBL

2010 Ford Fusion HID upgrade HELP!!!

Newbie here. I bought a 2010 Ford Fusion SEL and I was completely disappointed with the low beam intensity for stock H11 bulbs on this model. I couldn't see anything. So, I bought a HID aftermarket upgrade for this car and installed it. Here is my problem, when the car is turned off it works fine when placing the light switch on, the bulbs come on and fire up and look great. Here is the issue, once the car is started the bulbs stay on for a second or two and then begin to flicker, alternate flashing each side and then they go out. What is causing this to happen??? The company I purchased the kit from is saying the daytime running lights may be interfering. How can I fix this? Any thoughts?

Where are you? Only Canada has DRL I think. My first guess would be they are overheating, but I'm no expert.

Sounds more like a relay issue to me. The lights on cars these days are conttolled by relays. Sometimes seperate of each other.

well grats on the HID upgrade, please post up pixx. oh, and don't worry, your not illegal as long as your headlights can pass a DOT inspection.

The HID's in the low-beam position do not fire up properly with the lowered DRL power output. That is why cars which are designed and factory manufactured with HID's in the low beam position do not use the low beam as the DRL lights. For example, my Lincoln MKZ (sister to the Fusion/Milan), which has Factory HID's, uses the fog lights as the DRL lights, not the low beams.

If the MKZ can use the Fogs as DRL's how hard would it be to wire up the Fusion the same way?

I just boulght a 35w HID kit (for my low beam). If I install it my car will tell me my headlight is out? If so is there any way to fix this and still use the kit?

I just boulght a 35w HID kit (for my low beam). If I install it my car will tell me my headlight is out? If so is there any way to fix this and still use the kit?