CmelChappy

FFH's harsh, jolting ride qualities!

Purchased a FFH the end of June this year and love the car with the exception of the harsh, jolting ride over any but the smoothest road surface! This feature has ruined the car for me as I have been driving a 1971 T-Bird that was purchased new by my late father in late 1970, that is a super riding car. The harsh jolts over tar strips and man hole covers are severe enough to cause whiplash! My dealer has no new Fusions in stock that I can compare my car to and won't have for another month. Either I am an old geezer completly out of sync with today's automotive world, used to the great ride of the old Chrome barges of the sixties and seventies, or else my FFH has a problem with ride control. Could it be that the consumer of today accepts such harsh, jolting ride as the norm? This doesn't have to be.....my '65 mustang was lighter and smaller, but a much smoother riding car!

I’m not an expert but shocks, springs and tire side walls all contribute to the feeling of a smooth ride. Changing any and all of these components can greatly affect the road feel. 15” wheels with tires of the same outside diameter as the 17” tires on the FFH as well as changing to softer struts can help. This is a pricey solution just to get a smoother ride.

I’m not an expert but shocks, springs and tire side walls all contribute to the feeling of a smooth ride. Changing any and all of these components can greatly affect the road feel. 15” wheels with tires of the same outside diameter as the 17” tires on the FFH as well as changing to softer struts can help. This is a pricey solution just to get a smoother ride.