Bigern

Cold air intake

On 8/5/2020 at 7:33 PM, Bigern said:

I was thinking about slapping a cold air intake into my 2015 Ford Fusion hybrid w/ 2.0L. Any comments/ suggestions/ concerns would be greatly appreciated as I’m new to the hybrid platform. Thank you!!?

It already has a cold air intake. It gets air from the grille area. 

Don't use "lifetime" KN filters. After time, the foam seals  compress and don't seal properly. You usually see a trail of fine dust after the filter.  Just change the factory air filter at regular intervals. 

On my own fusion and any car that I owned, I have always taped up a screen in front of the air intake duct. It acts as a prefilter and traps out the larger leaves, feathers, etc...

If it's still good after 180k, then where did all the dust go?

How much dust was trapped in the cabin filter?

Besides looking at the filter, you need to carefully inspect the ducts after the filter for fine dust.

From what I've seen,  this is where the kn filters fail. Dust seems to get past, either through the media or seals as they get compressed over time.

Lot of people install kn filters and forget about them because they are lifetime. But you still have to buy the cleaning kits because they still need to be cleaned, oiled and the seals greased which is time consuming, messy and more expensive than just staying with the factory filter.

As for the cabin filter, they trap a lot of dust and dirt, it's disgusting what comes out of it. I don't know why you say it's a pain to change. I guess your lungs aren't worth the effort?

Edited by billford

1 hour ago, ptjones said:

I have my oil tested at Blackstone Labs and my results are better than when new and they said at 30k miles/15k ICE miles the oil still could have gone farther. I have used both Mobil1 and FORD oil. Just checked my oil at 12k miles on oil change and it's at 1/2 quart down, doesn't use much oil .  I highly recommend the K&N air filter just install and forget about it. ?

Paul