Sign in to follow this  
Toz

2013 Fusion Hybrid Titanium fuel Mileage

Once you have it a couple weeks, your foot starts to become very in-tune with the pedal and you'll be able to get it into EV mode a lot easier. I've noticed myself noticing the "feel" of the car a lot more than I ever did with previous vehicles.

And as the weather warms up it will get even easier to do this. To me, the biggest killer of mileage is

just moderately colder weather (50s or below). Just the engine running to keep the car warm is

where alot of the gas goes.

I'm still learning how to drive mine .... Yesterday on the way home I got 33.6 on the highway (12 miles @ 70) and this morning I got 36.1 by taking back roads (12.3 miles, mostly 55, some city driving at 35).

I'm finding it hard to go in EV at 55 MPH, unless I'm going downhill and don't need any power to keep the car moving. Going on a flat road, the power needed to keep the car going is more than the EV threshold, even with a 3/4 charged battery. It also doesn't seem to coast too much. Coming to a stop sign, I can pretty much let go of the gas pedal and it'll stop on it's own. I'm driving with the climate off, radio on.

I'm trying to use cruise control, but I keep pushing the wrong buttons. I'm used to pushing the lane assist button to set the speed, not having to turn it on when I turn the car on and using the + button to resume speed. The Fusion is totally different, so I'll have to get used to it.

Gulp,

please dont be like lime, please dont be like mine, please dont be like mine.

Doing a little praying for you.

I don't think it's the car as much as the driver ... My wife got 44 MPG the day we picked it up, going about 50-55 ...

Whew, had me worried there, thats exactly how mine acted! I know it wasnt my driving though, not when you see what I get in my other cars! LOL