Sign in to follow this  
drgallo

iPhone version 3.0 software upgrade will enable wireless BTST transfers.

The newest Apple iPhone software 3.0 upgrade, which will be available free on June 17th for all iPhone users will allow the iPhone to stream music to the Ford Sync System via BlueTooth, wirelessly. I have been using this new software for the past few weeks (I am an Apple Software Developer). I can tell you that it works VERY nicely with my 2010 Fusion Hybrid. I usually leave my iPhone on and as soon as I start the car, the music that is on the iPhone plays instantly, via the BlueTooth BTST connection. If I shut the car, and then start it again, it goes right to the point where I left off.

There are some limitations to this wireless BTST connection. Unlike a wired USB connection, you won't be able to see your music library, and I also doubt that you can do any Sync searches for Song, Artist or Title, either. You can pause a selection using the BTST with the steering wheel controls, but I don't think you can do more than that.

Oh yeah, the iPhone does switch to telephone mode for any incoming calls while in the shared Audio BTST mode. What I do most of the time is leave the iPhone in my pocket (especially for short trips) and just let the BTST do all of the work. For longer trips, I plug into the USB mode to get those extra features that the BTST mode lacks.

So, after the software is available on June 17, just upgrade your iPhone, the go to your car and try to pair it again. That should do the trick.

I have the iPhone 3.0 and I see a problem. There appears to be a problem when the iPhone is connected both via USB AND BT. The sound no longer works with the USB. That is: when trying to play via the USB there is no sound. If I turn the BT off then the USB mode works as before.

Mark Lederer

--------------------------