Jump to content





Welcome to Ford Fusion Hybrid Forum


Sign In  Log in with Facebook

Create Account
Welcome to Ford Fusion Hybrid Forum, like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community, but don't worry this is a simple free process that requires minimal information for you to signup. Be apart of Ford Fusion Hybrid Forum by signing in or creating an account.
  • Start new topics and reply to others
  • Subscribe to topics and forums to get email updates
  • Get your own profile page and make new friends
  • Send personal messages to other members.
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Posted Image
Register your Fusion Hybrid at the official Ford authorized registry here.


Photo
- - - - -

Aftermarket Remote Start?


  • Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   Lilman

Lilman

    New Member

  • Fusion Hybrid Member
  • 10 posts
  • Region:U.S. Southern Atlantic
  • Location:GA
  • Current Vehicle:Fusion Hybrid
  • My Hybrid's Year:2015

Posted 23 March 2015 - 07:04 AM

Just took delivery of a '15 for my new company car. Naturally remote start is one of the options it did not come with but it is something I want to add.

 

Looking for an aftermarket solution only with the 3x lock start feature. I know about the Ford module but since this is a company vehicle, anything I do to it has to come from my pocket, plus I don't want 2 remotes.

 

I have the tools, equipment and extensive auto knowledge so installation is not a problem. Been building hot rods since I was a kid and I'm an electrical engineer by trade so busting into the wiring does not scare me at all. However, I don't want anything that will have to go to the dealer for programming.

 

Anyone done this? All ideas and suggestions are greatly appreciated.

 

TIA

 

Lilman









Lose this advertisement by becoming a member. Click here to create a free account.


#2 OFFLINE   lolder

lolder

    Fusion Hybrid Addict

  • Fusion Hybrid Member
  • 1,784 posts
  • Region:Decline
  • Location:Florida
  • Current Vehicle:2010 FFH 501A Trim
  • My Hybrid's Year:Decline

Posted 23 March 2015 - 09:09 AM

All the computers in these cars "talk" to each other all the time. I think it would be very difficult to do and I would never try to "bust" into the wiring of these cars. I was an EE also and did things like install aftermarket cruise controls as far back as 1960; nothing as extensive as you but I wouldn't attempt that on modern cars unless the product was specifically marketed for the individual vehicle make, model and trim and was "plug and play".


Edited by lolder, 23 March 2015 - 09:22 AM.


#3 OFFLINE   Lilman

Lilman

    New Member

  • Fusion Hybrid Member
  • 10 posts
  • Region:U.S. Southern Atlantic
  • Location:GA
  • Current Vehicle:Fusion Hybrid
  • My Hybrid's Year:2015

Posted 23 March 2015 - 09:22 AM

Yes, I agree. P&P is what I want. Like most all vehicles these days this is a CanBus system and you can't just throw wiring at it. It has to be designed with a datalink to match the factory. Seems like all auto manufacturers have their own "interpretation" of the CanBus, even my Harley motorcycle is CanBus. They can be interfaced with and modified, you just have to have the right system to do it.



#4 OFFLINE   Easy Rider

Easy Rider

    Fusion Hybrid Enthusiast

  • Inactive
  • PipPipPip
  • 760 posts
  • Region:U.S. Southern Atlantic
  • Location:N. Central Florida
  • Current Vehicle:Fusion Titanium
  • My Hybrid's Year:2014

Posted 23 March 2015 - 09:28 AM

What would the dealer charge you to add a "real" Ford system ?

 

And I suggest that you be practical about this:

Will the benefits REALLY be worth the time and cost ?

I've had it on my last two cars and almost never use it.

 

Then......if you put something on that is "3rd party", there is always an outside chance that a warranty problem will require it's removal to properly diagnnose the problem.



#5 OFFLINE   lolder

lolder

    Fusion Hybrid Addict

  • Fusion Hybrid Member
  • 1,784 posts
  • Region:Decline
  • Location:Florida
  • Current Vehicle:2010 FFH 501A Trim
  • My Hybrid's Year:Decline

Posted 23 March 2015 - 09:34 AM

See this thread post #1: http://fordfusionhyb...led/#entry89241



#6 OFFLINE   Lilman

Lilman

    New Member

  • Fusion Hybrid Member
  • 10 posts
  • Region:U.S. Southern Atlantic
  • Location:GA
  • Current Vehicle:Fusion Hybrid
  • My Hybrid's Year:2015

Posted 23 March 2015 - 10:11 AM

I contacted my local dealer about a "real" Ford add on remote start. They won't touch it and said get an aftermarket but couldn't tell me which one. Contacted next closest dealer (60 miles away) which said sure, at a cost of "somewhere in the $600-700 range".

 

Not spending that much out of my pocket on a vehicle I don't own and will only drive for a maximum of 3 years.

 

As for use, yeah I will use it almost daily. Either in the SE heat in the summer or when I'm working up north in the winter.



#7 OFFLINE   Da0ne

Da0ne

    Fusion Hybrid Enthusiast

  • Fusion Hybrid Member
  • 323 posts
  • Region:U.S. Northeast
  • Location:NYC
  • Current Vehicle:Ford Fusion Energi, 2014 Lexus IS 250 AWD
  • My Hybrid's Year:2013

Posted 23 March 2015 - 01:14 PM

http://2gfusions.net...ead.php?tid=963

 

all you need is the adapter and 30 min of your time


319386.png

 

305468.png

 

retired 9/23

 

180884.png


#8 OFFLINE   Lilman

Lilman

    New Member

  • Fusion Hybrid Member
  • 10 posts
  • Region:U.S. Southern Atlantic
  • Location:GA
  • Current Vehicle:Fusion Hybrid
  • My Hybrid's Year:2015

Posted 23 March 2015 - 01:18 PM

Thank You! That's exactly what I have been searching for!

 

I'll find one, install it and post the results.



#9 OFFLINE   Lilman

Lilman

    New Member

  • Fusion Hybrid Member
  • 10 posts
  • Region:U.S. Southern Atlantic
  • Location:GA
  • Current Vehicle:Fusion Hybrid
  • My Hybrid's Year:2015

Posted 29 March 2015 - 08:48 AM

Update:

 

Yesterday I installed an iDatalink ADS-ALCA programmed with the FM6 firmware. Got it from a guy on eBay, already programmed with wiring prepped for install. $119.00 to my door. Yeah, I could have gotten it cheaper but I would have had to get the programming cable, load the firmware and all that. Not something I cared to do for a one off install.

 

Install taps into the OBDII wiring and took maybe 30 minutes tops including programming and testing.

 

Works great, works as advertised, simple install. Just what I wanted.

 

Timing is set at 20 minutes. I wish this was longer and may be adjustable in the firmware settings, haven't gotten that far into it but that's about standard for today's vehicles. I will have to see if this is long enough when I'm working up north in the winter.


  • hybridbear likes this

#10 OFFLINE   hybridbear

hybridbear

    Fusion Hybrid Fanatic

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,915 posts
  • Region:U.S. Northern Plains
  • Location:Minneapolis, MN
  • Current Vehicle:2013 Focus Electric, 2013 Fusion Energi Titanium
  • My Hybrid's Year:2013

Posted 29 March 2015 - 09:36 AM

The Ford remote start that's built in to the Titanium Hybrid in all Energi vehicles is 5, 10 or 15 minutes in duration. You can configure it on the left dash screen. With that system you can remote start up to two times for a maximum of 30 consecutive minutes. Once you reach the two start maximum, you cannot remote start again until the vehicle is started and turned off, or a certain time limit passes, I believe one hour.

Edited by hybridbear, 29 March 2015 - 09:36 AM.

Current Vehicles

2013 Ford Fusion Energi Titanium - White Platinum Metallic

2013 Ford Focus Electric - Ice Storm

315692.png

 

Previous Vehicles

2013 Ford Fusion Hybrid SE x2

252543.png167422.png


#11 OFFLINE   Easy Rider

Easy Rider

    Fusion Hybrid Enthusiast

  • Inactive
  • PipPipPip
  • 760 posts
  • Region:U.S. Southern Atlantic
  • Location:N. Central Florida
  • Current Vehicle:Fusion Titanium
  • My Hybrid's Year:2014

Posted 29 March 2015 - 10:34 AM

 

Timing is set at 20 minutes. I wish this was longer 

OK, gotta ask:

Why would you need the car to continue "running" for 20 minutes ??

The coolant will probably get hot in the first 5 and all but the worst chills would be well on the way out in another 5, I would think.



#12 OFFLINE   Lilman

Lilman

    New Member

  • Fusion Hybrid Member
  • 10 posts
  • Region:U.S. Southern Atlantic
  • Location:GA
  • Current Vehicle:Fusion Hybrid
  • My Hybrid's Year:2015

Posted 29 March 2015 - 10:45 AM

When I'm working in upper North Dakota, in winter. This past January and February it was routinely -20 to -40 plus wind chill when we would go to leave the hotel at 6:00 AM. Vehicle I was driving had to run at least 30 to 45 minutes just to get where you can clean the windows with a scraper and be able to see.






0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

Privacy Policy Terms of Service ·