Jump to content





Welcome to Ford Fusion Hybrid Forum


Sign In  Log in with Facebook

Create Account
Welcome to Ford Fusion Hybrid Forum, like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community, but don't worry this is a simple free process that requires minimal information for you to signup. Be apart of Ford Fusion Hybrid Forum by signing in or creating an account.
  • Start new topics and reply to others
  • Subscribe to topics and forums to get email updates
  • Get your own profile page and make new friends
  • Send personal messages to other members.
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Posted Image
Register your Fusion Hybrid at the official Ford authorized registry here.


Photo
- - - - -

Programming a new intelligent access key


  • Please log in to reply
24 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   aschulz261

aschulz261

    Fusion Hybrid Member

  • Fusion Hybrid Member
  • 83 posts
  • Region:U.S. Pacific Coast
  • Location:Kihei, HI
  • Current Vehicle:HyTi
  • My Hybrid's Year:2013

Posted 01 January 2014 - 08:52 PM

I'm hoping someone can help me out with this.  I recently got a new unprogrammed intelligent access fob to use as a spare.  Looking in the owners manual and reading the instructions there, I just can't seem to get it to program the new key.

 

I still have both factory keys (key 1 and key2)

 

the procedure I am using is the following:

 

insert key 1 into slot in console (keyring facing up, buttons facing the rear).  wait 5 seconds

push START/STOP turning the car on

remove key 1 and replace it with key 2

push START/STOP turning the car off

wait 5 seconds

push START/STOP turning the car on

remove key 2 and replace it with unprogrammed key

wait 5 seconds

push START/STOP turning the car off

 

the owners manual says it should be programmed at this point.  But nothing happens.  I don't get any messages on the dash saying it succeeded, failed, or even attempted anything.  The START/STOP button doesn't do anything unusual during this process(blinking, pulsing, etc)

 

I read somewhere that it should unlock the doors and flash the lights when the programming has succeeded.  Obviously, I don't get that either.

 

Can anyone tell me what I am doing wrong?









Lose this advertisement by becoming a member. Click here to create a free account.


#2 OFFLINE   murphy

murphy

    Fusion Hybrid Addict

  • Fusion Hybrid Member
  • 1,420 posts
  • Region:U.S. Northeast
  • Location:PA
  • Current Vehicle:2013 Fusion Energi Titanium

Posted 01 January 2014 - 09:43 PM

Are both of your keys admin keys?

I would not expect it to work if one of them was a MyKey.



#3 OFFLINE   aschulz261

aschulz261

    Fusion Hybrid Member

  • Fusion Hybrid Member
  • 83 posts
  • Region:U.S. Pacific Coast
  • Location:Kihei, HI
  • Current Vehicle:HyTi
  • My Hybrid's Year:2013

Posted 01 January 2014 - 09:52 PM

I never configured a MyKey, but I suppose I should check that.



#4 OFFLINE   acdii

acdii

    Fusion Hybrid Legal Resident

  • Fusion Hybrid Member
  • 8,174 posts
  • Region:U.S. Great Lakes
  • Location:Harvard
  • Current Vehicle:2013 HyTi, 2013 Flex EbTi
  • My Hybrid's Year:2013

Posted 02 January 2014 - 10:47 AM

Did you verify the new fob has a good battery? Sometimes it can be the simplest things. 


Drive Smarter, Not Faster

Posted Image
https://www.facebook.../12595DesertRat

#5 OFFLINE   aschulz261

aschulz261

    Fusion Hybrid Member

  • Fusion Hybrid Member
  • 83 posts
  • Region:U.S. Pacific Coast
  • Location:Kihei, HI
  • Current Vehicle:HyTi
  • My Hybrid's Year:2013

Posted 02 January 2014 - 11:46 PM

I have no MyKeys set and I have swapped the batteries between remotes and still no luck.



#6 OFFLINE   murphy

murphy

    Fusion Hybrid Addict

  • Fusion Hybrid Member
  • 1,420 posts
  • Region:U.S. Northeast
  • Location:PA
  • Current Vehicle:2013 Fusion Energi Titanium

Posted 03 January 2014 - 07:06 AM

I have no MyKeys set and I have swapped the batteries between remotes and still no luck.

The batteries should not matter since putting the key in the slot allows the chip in the key to be read directly.

 

Take the batteries out of a good key and see if it will operate the car when placed in the slot.  Make sure the other keys are out of range.  Maybe the chip reader in the slot is broken.



#7 OFFLINE   FordService

FordService

    Fusion Hybrid Enthusiast

  • Official Ford Motor Co.
  • 410 posts
  • Region:Decline
  • Location:Dearborn, Michigan
  • Current Vehicle:Model T
  • My Hybrid's Year:Decline

Posted 03 January 2014 - 07:40 PM

I'm hoping someone can help me out with this.  I recently got a new unprogrammed intelligent access fob to use as a spare.  Looking in the owners manual and reading the instructions there, I just can't seem to get it to program the new key. ...

 

Can anyone tell me what I am doing wrong?

 

It sounds like you're doing everything right, aschulz261. If these guys can't troubleshoot you through it, your dealer is going to be the best bet. If you're still looking for help after that, send me a PM with your name, phone number, VIN, mileage, and dealer info, and I'll have someone give you a call.

 

Ashley


  • hybridbear likes this

#8 OFFLINE   aschulz261

aschulz261

    Fusion Hybrid Member

  • Fusion Hybrid Member
  • 83 posts
  • Region:U.S. Pacific Coast
  • Location:Kihei, HI
  • Current Vehicle:HyTi
  • My Hybrid's Year:2013

Posted 03 January 2014 - 10:46 PM

It looks like I am off to the dealer.



#9 OFFLINE   airbusguy

airbusguy

    Fusion Hybrid Member

  • Fusion Hybrid Member
  • 81 posts
  • Region:Canada British Columbia
  • Location:West Kelowna
  • Current Vehicle:2013 Fusion Titanium Hybrid

Posted 04 January 2014 - 09:47 AM

Did you have the doors closed before and during the whole procedure? It's mentioned before the instruction steps.

210489.png


#10 OFFLINE   danbaker

danbaker

    New Member

  • Fusion Hybrid Member
  • 2 posts
  • Region:Decline
  • Location:Here
  • Current Vehicle:2014 Fusion SE Hybrid
  • My Hybrid's Year:2014

Posted 01 May 2014 - 08:52 PM

To all those who have tried to program a spare Intelligent Access key in a 2014 (probably 2013 also) Fusion Hybrid using the instructions in the Owner's Manual (pages 62-63 for the 2014):

 

 The instructions in the manual are incomplete. In the last step (new key in console slot), press the START button TWICE instead of just once.

 

I wasted a lot of time (several hours) trying to program a key, thinking that I was somehow failing to get the timing just right, when I found the missing info posted by TechOps in post #6 of:

http://www.blueovalf...nergi-titanium/

 

 

So the procedure that worked for my 2014 Fusion SE Hybrid (and probably works for all 2013-2014 with Intelligent Access) is:

 

Power off, doors closed, need 2 programmed keys plus 1 key that you're going to program.

 

1. INSERT first programmed key in the center console key slot, key ring on top, buttons facing the rear.

 

2. WAIT 5 SECONDS, then PRESS THE START BUTTON.

 

3. REMOVE the first key.

 

4. INSERT second programmed key in the center console key slot, key ring on top, buttons facing the rear and PRESS THE START BUTTON.

 

5. WAIT 5 SECONDS, then PRESS THE START BUTTON again.

 

6. REMOVE the second key.

 

7. WAIT 5 SECONDS, then INSERT the new key in the center console key slot, key ring on top, buttons facing the rear and PRESS THE START BUTTON TWICE.

 

 

I ended up programming two new (well, used from Ebay) keys this way. Takes about 20 seconds each time.   ;)


  • hybridbear likes this

#11 OFFLINE   acdii

acdii

    Fusion Hybrid Legal Resident

  • Fusion Hybrid Member
  • 8,174 posts
  • Region:U.S. Great Lakes
  • Location:Harvard
  • Current Vehicle:2013 HyTi, 2013 Flex EbTi
  • My Hybrid's Year:2013

Posted 02 May 2014 - 08:11 AM

Interesting, were they keys you received wiped first?  I tried to add the spare key from my wrecked Flex to my MKT and it didn't work. I followed the same steps above too. The dealer was able to get it added by using their computer to wipe the key while in the slot first. From what I read it has to be an "unprogrammed" key. 


Drive Smarter, Not Faster

Posted Image
https://www.facebook.../12595DesertRat

#12 OFFLINE   danbaker

danbaker

    New Member

  • Fusion Hybrid Member
  • 2 posts
  • Region:Decline
  • Location:Here
  • Current Vehicle:2014 Fusion SE Hybrid
  • My Hybrid's Year:2014

Posted 02 May 2014 - 09:45 AM

I don't know if they were 'wiped', but I doubt it. They were both used keys bought on Ebay. I doubt if the previous owner/seller would have gone to the trouble.

 

PS -

For future reference, is there a way to unprogram a key without taking it to the dealer?



#13 OFFLINE   murphy

murphy

    Fusion Hybrid Addict

  • Fusion Hybrid Member
  • 1,420 posts
  • Region:U.S. Northeast
  • Location:PA
  • Current Vehicle:2013 Fusion Energi Titanium

Posted 02 May 2014 - 11:39 AM

There is no storage that can be changed in an OEM IA key.  The IA key has a unique serial number.  Programming a key to a car is simply storing the unique serial number in the car's key memory.

 

The locksmiths that can clone a key have special blanks that can have their serial number changed.  They copy the serial number of a working key to the clone key.

 

It should be possible to program the same key into two cars.

The logistics of actually using that key could be tricky.

Remote start two cars at the same time.

 

After endless attempts to program a third key I had to have my dealer do it.

 

The only way to unprogram a key is to have the dealer wipe the key memory in the car and then program in the keys that you want.

 

This whole procedure was so much easier in my 2010 Hybrid.  The spare key programmed the first time I tried it.



#14 OFFLINE   acdii

acdii

    Fusion Hybrid Legal Resident

  • Fusion Hybrid Member
  • 8,174 posts
  • Region:U.S. Great Lakes
  • Location:Harvard
  • Current Vehicle:2013 HyTi, 2013 Flex EbTi
  • My Hybrid's Year:2013

Posted 02 May 2014 - 01:45 PM

There is no storage that can be changed in an OEM IA key.  The IA key has a unique serial number.  Programming a key to a car is simply storing the unique serial number in the car's key memory.

 

The locksmiths that can clone a key have special blanks that can have their serial number changed.  They copy the serial number of a working key to the clone key.

 

It should be possible to program the same key into two cars.

The logistics of actually using that key could be tricky.

Remote start two cars at the same time.

 

After endless attempts to program a third key I had to have my dealer do it.

 

The only way to unprogram a key is to have the dealer wipe the key memory in the car and then program in the keys that you want.

 

This whole procedure was so much easier in my 2010 Hybrid.  The spare key programmed the first time I tried it.

 

Umm I don't know if you have one with Remote start, but they are two way keys now. The LED turns green when the car starts, or red if it didn't respond. The key doesn't get "programmed", but is tagged with the cars ID so it can receive the remote start signal.  The Fob for the Flex though doesn't have that feature, but is still tagged to match the car. 


  • GrySql likes this
Drive Smarter, Not Faster

Posted Image
https://www.facebook.../12595DesertRat

#15 OFFLINE   Waldo

Waldo

    Fusion Hybrid Addict

  • Fusion Hybrid Member
  • 1,112 posts

Posted 02 May 2014 - 02:37 PM

Holly cow, I never noticed the LED before, but just checked and my Fusion does have it.  Wow, learn something new every day.


Edited by Waldo, 02 May 2014 - 02:38 PM.

  • acdii likes this

#16 OFFLINE   hytibill

hytibill

    New Member

  • Fusion Hybrid Member
  • 46 posts
  • Region:U.S. Northeast
  • Location:New York
  • Current Vehicle:2013 Ford Fusion Hybrid Titanium

Posted 18 May 2015 - 07:47 PM

Dan is right. You have to hit the start button twice at the end. Note that when you hit the button the second time, nothing will happen for a few seconds, then the doors will lock and the lights will flash. If you mess up, the information bar on the left will say key programming error. Thanks.

#17 OFFLINE   darynm

darynm

    New Member

  • Fusion Hybrid Member
  • 2 posts
  • Location:Katy, Tx
  • Current Vehicle:2012 Ford Fustion Hybrid

Posted 20 August 2015 - 06:03 PM

I had problems like others programming a an access remote that I ordered on ebay. Looked factory new and couldn't get it to program. The sequense I found here finally got it to program in after I was ready to send it back. The programming sequense is important and pressing the button twice at the end had to be done within 1 to 2 seconds of each other or it won't work. I'm very happy this worked and others had figured this out! Thank you!!!


  • GrySql likes this

#18 OFFLINE   jjd

jjd

    New Member

  • Fusion Hybrid Member
  • 4 posts
  • Region:U.S. Southern Atlantic
  • Location:South East US
  • Current Vehicle:Fusion SE hybrid
  • My Hybrid's Year:Decline

Posted 11 December 2015 - 09:28 AM

I wanted to share my experience because I had a lot of trouble too getting an ebay key to pair with the car. This took around 10 tries with various techniques before I think dumb luck struck.

 

I first used the info from the ford site:

http://owner.ford.co...ybrid&year=2014

Three times with no response close to what I'd expect and I decided this wasn't correct. (nice try on the help ford, but thanks for the red herring)

 

Then I checked here. Excited to see Dan's steps I tried those several times and continued to fail

.

I then resorted to RTFM and followed those steps, which is basically what's described in the manual with Dan's extra start press:

1) inset factory key 1 in key copartment in console,

2) press start/stop

3) wait >3 sec but <10,

4) press start/stop

5) remove key

6) insert factory key 2 and repeat steps 2-5

7) insert new key

8) press start, system seems dead (ie no response)

9) press start

 

I was greeted with "no key found" after the first couple of attempts. I was questioning the key I had purchased, but I didn't give up.

I decided to try pressing the key against the forward wall of the basket in case distance was preventing it from being found. That little basket creates a fairly tight fit but it was worth a try.

 

I discovered mid-sequence pushing the key forward required some arm repositioning to get my left arm in the console to keep the right free for the start/stop. After repositioning, I pressed start and while I doing the momentary pause before the second press the hazzards flashed. That was totally unexpected, then the display read "key programmed". My second press actually turned the car off.

 

I'm not sure the two presses are required, they may be. But maybe giving the new key a chance to settle and get reconized before pressing start is the trick. Just something to try for anyone caught having problems (re)programming a new key.

 

 

This process raised a question, as murphy pointed out it seems the key ID is stored in the car rather than the car ID in the key. This makes sense, it's like pairing a key to a car rather than the other way around. So, while I don't think any other key that was part of an original facotry pair from their original keys would work on my car, wouldn't the key i got still work on the original car unless all keys are wiped from that car?


  • GrySql likes this

#19 OFFLINE   jjd

jjd

    New Member

  • Fusion Hybrid Member
  • 4 posts
  • Region:U.S. Southern Atlantic
  • Location:South East US
  • Current Vehicle:Fusion SE hybrid
  • My Hybrid's Year:Decline

Posted 11 March 2016 - 11:24 AM

I just easily programmed a new key with the steps in my previous post. The most difficult part was locating the second original key! Thanks for all the help guys.

#20 OFFLINE   murphy

murphy

    Fusion Hybrid Addict

  • Fusion Hybrid Member
  • 1,420 posts
  • Region:U.S. Northeast
  • Location:PA
  • Current Vehicle:2013 Fusion Energi Titanium

Posted 11 March 2016 - 02:40 PM

This process raised a question, as murphy pointed out it seems the key ID is stored in the car rather than the car ID in the key. This makes sense, it's like pairing a key to a car rather than the other way around. So, while I don't think any other key that was part of an original facotry pair from their original keys would work on my car, wouldn't the key i got still work on the original car unless all keys are wiped from that car?

 

Yes that key would still work in the original car if its key memory hasn't been cleared.

 

I have a theory that the same key could be programmed into two cars that you own and be used to drive either one.  I have no way to test that theory.






0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

Privacy Policy Terms of Service ·