KLH

Suggested New Engine: D.A.R.T.

Since a few threads have been made on improving the ICE by adding a turbo and using diesel fuel, I thought that I'd keep suggesting core ICE improvements. How about moving to a Diesel Atkinson Rotary Technology (D.A.R.T.) ICE engine? After reading 10 minutes on this concept, I'm now an expert. We can achieve these benefits by using DART in our ICE:

• High power and torque
  • Minimal vibration
  • High RPM
  • High fuel efficiency
  • Low Emissions
  • Reduced number of components
  • High thermodynamic efficiency
  • Multiple Fuel capability
  • Very flexible internal geometry
  • Noise Reduction

The part that got my attention:

For the same induction capacity, the D.A.R.T. engine would be only half the size/weight of a conventional engine, yet still produce 27% more power together with a 12% increase in efficiency.

Sure, we need more efficient batteries, but why not marry those to a more efficient ICE?

Edited by KLH

According to the DART article, the Atkinson rotary engine is so much more efficient that there is significantly reduced diesel particulate. There may not be a need for a filter (DPF) at all.

The design is at the proof-of-concept phase, but seems promising as a longer term.

The EPA here requires it on all highway diesel vehicles. Just like a catalitic converter. Doesnt matter if the vehicle passes emissions without it. You gotta have it..

I must admit that I'm out of my depth with respect to the issues related to power trains and emissions. Still, I assume that making more efficient engines benefits everyone.

The DART engine might be something that propels hybrids to a new level of MPG range. I might be wrong though...