Willskx

Aftermarket wheels decrease mpg?

Alright, newbie here, just got the 2013 Fusion se Hybrid couple weeks ago. Happy so far besides the color. I'm considering purchasing aftermarket wheels, so far I've read that I will likely loose some mpg. Mine came with the 17" wheels. The wheel I'd like to get starts at 18". There's my question. Has anyone done this? All I've read is people changing from factory 18" to factory 19" with minimal decrease in mpg. I only have 400 miles on car so far and have averaged 30mpg. I also "heard" there is a "brake-in" period, after which the mpg would increase, where's my 47 as advertised? Any truth to that? 30 is great, just wondering if it gets better, or the way I drive. My other Ford is an '05 F-350 powerstroke 6.0 diesel utility truck for work. After all the mods on that I've averaged 11mpg in town, highway, loaded, empty, whatever, 11mpg solid.

If anyone has any experience or references on 17" to 18" wheel size change on this Hybrid and the effects, please share.

All the HyTi's and SE with Luxury wheels come with 18" rims and Goodyear tires. There is a slight penalty between the 17 and 18" tires, but its very minor. If you get something like the Primacy Michelin tires that come in the correct size, they have some of the lowest rolling resistance in this size, and should make up the difference.

There is a trade off though, the traction is not as good as the Goodyear tires, so if you live where there can be snow, you may want to consider a set of snow tires for the winter, but the Goodyear tires that come on the 18" wheels have very good snow traction.