blinkstafoo182

Battery Draining Quickly

Driving on a flat highway around 65 mph the battery will come to about a 75% charge but will only go into EV mode once I am coming down a hill or I decrease speed. But once the car does going to EV mode it only last a couple of minutes and once the battery level hits around 25% the motor kicks back on and the battery begins to charge again.

I have a about a 45 mile commute every day and it seems to do this cycle as I am driving. Is this normal for the batter to drain down to 25% so quickly?

What year FFH do you have?

I am no expert on the 2013 hybrid, but from experience with my 2010 FFH, nothing you described seems unreasonable for the vehicle. I have learned in almost 4 years not to try to second guess the FFH computer, just enjoy the good mileage. After 75,000 miles I am still getting 40 mpg, with an overall average of 39.1. As others on this forum have explained more eloquently than I, your best mileage is not when you are in electric mode. Electric mode is actually less efficient than direct drive. Yes you are not burning any gas in that mode, but the extra conversion of engine to generator to chemical energy in the battery, back out of the battery to the electric motor is actually less efficient than direct drive of the engine to the wheels at a constant speed. The Volt hybrid demonstrated this phenomenon, as it is never that efficient with the engine only charging the battery. The biggest efficiency on the Volt is the first 25-40 miles on electric, because that first 40 miles only costs about $1.70 for the electricity to charge it.