Sign in to follow this  
Nmadole

Poor MPG ... Should I take it in?

Another couple points for anyone considering going to the dealer for MPG (I've seen a few threads)... first, reset the average (as Akirby often points out) to start with a clean baseline... second, gather some hard data over a few tanks with actual miles/gallons and have that with you on a trip to the dealer.

Without the above, kinda seems like going to the doctor to complain about a persistent fever without having taken your actual temperature over the time that you've felt feverish. Makes it tougher for the doc (or the service guy, in the above example) to know how deep to dig.

RTFM, it states CLEARLY that mileage for the first 1000 miles will not be anywhere near EPA(well doesn't say it like that, but that's what it means). It will take several thousand miles for both the car and YOU to get good MPG. I have been driving hybrids now since 2007, easily getting EPA on the 10 with the hilly drive I do everyday, and I have a hard time getting in the 30's in the '13. So don't worry about it, drive it like you stole it for the first few K miles, then once everything is moving smoothly in the car, start practicing your EV driving and maximizing your mileage. The '13 does have this nice feature that the 10 doesn't and that's the driving coach. Those 3 bars will help you learn how to drive.