bwl8772

New 2017 Fusion Hybrid Battery Not Full

HI,

I have just bought my first hybrid. It's a 2017 Fusion Hybrid Titanium and I have had it for about 1 week. I have driven it on the highway, and around town. It seems like no matter what I do, the battery charge indicator only peaks at 50% full. I have driven about 100 miles so far probably 50/50 highway and city. I'm averaging 43 MPG which is great. It seems to charge well when I stop and coast.

My Questions:

Since I just bought the car (used - it was a rental car before).

1) Should I make sure it will fully charge the battery? How do I fully charge it?

2) Should I expect the gauge to hover around 40%-50% at all times?

Thanks for the help. I'm a hybrid newbie!

BL

2) Should I expect the gauge to hover around 40%-50% at all times?

On average, that is what it will do. It is designed to operate this way. The car has lots of software controlling the battery management to achieve long battery life and maximize fuel efficiency. In my experience, the only time I notice the battery achieving full charge (as indicated by the dashboard graphic) is when descending a long grade or decelerating on the interstate exit ramp.

Focus your efforts on smooth gentle acceleration and gentle braking (not the battery SOC). You are already off to a very good start with your 43 MPG.