mwr

Using portable GPS

My 2015 FFH SE doesn't have nav, and I'm considering getting a Garmin Nuvi 5" or 6" GPS. Is anyone using a portable GPS with their FFH? If so, how and where to you mount it, etc? Do you recommend a 5" or 6" (larger is better unless it makes using it more difficult).

I have been using a 5" Garmin (with lifetime map updates) for around the last 5 years. I use a friction dash mount similar to this:

https://www.amazon.com/Garmin-Portable-Friction-Mount-Frustration/dp/B002OL2MU4/ref=pd_lpo_107_bs_tr_img_2?_encoding=UTF8&psc=1&refRID=KAVQF0XQ0JVQP2MZR8WD

I like this dash mount a lot and the 5" size has worked well for us. Never had a 6" so I can't comment on the larger size. The friction dash mount has never slipped around and is easy to move back and forth between our two vehicles. It is also easy for my co-pilot to grab the GPS (and mount) from the dash and change settings/destination while driving.

Edited by Texasota

I have been using a 5" Garmin (with lifetime map updates) for around the last 5 years. I use a friction dash mount similar to this:

https://www.amazon.com/Garmin-Portable-Friction-Mount-Frustration/dp/B002OL2MU4/ref=pd_lpo_107_bs_tr_img_2?_encoding=UTF8&psc=1&refRID=KAVQF0XQ0JVQP2MZR8WD

I like this dash mount a lot and the 5" size has worked well for us. Never had a 6" so I can't comment on the larger size. The friction dash mount has never slipped around and is easy to move back and forth between our two vehicles. It is also easy for my co-pilot to grab the GPS (and mount) from the dash and change settings/destination while driving.

Thanks! It it's not too much trouble, could you post a pic of your Garmin GPS mounted in your FFH?

Tonight I ordered a Garmin Nuvi 57LM 5-Inch GPS and the mount suggested above. It's supposed to arrive in two days, so I should have a report by the weekend.