Sign in to follow this  
Habart

Brake Problem when towing FFH

I have a 2013 FFH that we tow behind a Leisure Travel Van B+ RV (Mercedes Sprinter Chassis)

The FFH is set up with a charging line from the RV, and I have a Roadmaster InvisiBrake system installed. I have two persistent problems, and would like to know if any others have experienced these problems, and / or found solutions.

1. After towing, about 25% of the time the car will get the "wrench" and transmission error code. This disappears after one or two start-ups when driving the car. The dealer (and I) don't think this is a big issue as the code always resets, and when in for service, no codes are showing. I have had the "random code" problem with a previous Olds Alero that I used to tow with another RV.

2. The FFH does not have active brakes (i.e.: there is no power brake boost when towing). The InvisiBrake is set to about 70 lbs pressure, which seems about right so that when braking the car feels to be putting minimal pressure on the tow bar. The Roadmaster instructions suggest 60 lbs, but after road testing with the tech, we upped the pressure a bit. Now the bad part. On a long road trip (3 months), about once out of every 5 days of towing, when applying the brakes in the RV, the FFH seems to go into "panic braking" and trys to stop the motorhome. When this happens, I have to pull to the side of the road (the brakes on the FFH are very hot - as expected as it is trying to stop an 11,000 lb motorhome). I then go through the normal towing start procedure (put the FHH in park, start the motor and let it run for a bit, put the car in neutral, and turn off the ignition (push button start). Then everything is back to normal, and I am likely good for another week.