58Desoto

Different method of driving -- my experience getting 50+ mpg

I'm a newbie at hybrid driving. But being a retired GE engineer I am always thinking what my drivetran is doing while driving.

My first tank i got 39 mpg with the A/C on. Noticing my battery level drop at red lights i began turning the a/c off at red lights, next tank got 44 mpg.

Turning the a/c off but running the fan seems to keep the compressor engauged as cold air will come out when the fan is running at first start up so i kill everything.

One thing i did notice is the low mpg numbers i was getting in ice mode. After putting some thought into it i began starting from a stop using ice to just below the speed limit then switching to electric and raising my speed to 5 mpg over the speed limit when the ice kicks in i slowly reduce my speed to 5 miles under the speed limit. what this does is to raise my ice mpg as i look at the mpg gauge.

I have yet to use a full tank using this method but every trip i have driven has gotten over 50 mpg with the a/c on and many trips at 56 to 58 mpg when I have the a/c off

Edited by 58Desoto

No. This is not pulse and guild

. To initiate a P&G, accelerate to about 40 MPH with the engine running (the pulse part), then ease off the pedal until the engine shuts off and the hybrid system goes into electric mode. At this point, the vehicle's power meter should show zero (or if equipped with an energy flow monitor, no arrows are showing energy flow). This is the glide part. The engine is off, the electric motor is disengaged and the vehicle is literally coasting for free. When the car slows to about 25 or 30 MPH (depending on traffic conditions, of course) repeat the pulse part, then the glide and so on.

My method is more of a "pulse and excelerate"