Monkeywrench Mystic

Engine "Revving" on 2015 FFH

Hello! We just bought a 2015 FFH with 30k. After about six weeks, the engine begin to rev like the transmission was trying to shift but could not. When you accelerate the car it does gain speed(sometimes slowly, sometimes the electric seems to kick in and it goes faster) but the revving sound(like you have it in neutral) gets worse.

We took it into our dealership but they wanted us to leave it for two days just to diagnose it. Any ideas what the problem could be? My first instinct, of course,is that it is a bad transmission. But I thought perhaps the EV might have something to do with it(if the charge gets too low?)

Thanks and yes, I am a noob. My first post.

PS I have sent a couple of Health reports and there have no been no problems flagged.

Welcome! This might be normal behavior. The eCVT has no gears, so the "revving" of the engine sounds different than a "normal" car that shifts gears. The ICE can be a bit on the loud side during harder acceleration, but that's normal for this car. There have been some bad transmissions in earlier models, but it doesn't sound like you're describing any of those symptoms. Seems like you may be focusing on the sound of the engine, and since you've assumed it's a problem, you notice it more and assume it to be getting worse. Perhaps you could test drive another FFH and compare?

The only thing that doesn't seem normal in your description is that you noticed a difference after six weeks, instead of from the beginning, so maybe something is wrong. But as was noted above, the ICE "revs" unlike "normal" cars. The ICE rpm is controlled by a computer which sometimes seems to have a mind of its own. I've had my FFH for 1 1/2 years and I still can't always predict when the engine will "rev".